Friday, May 29, 2015

From LaxMagazine: Thompson, Cummings Earn Second-Straight Tewaaraton Awards

Thompson, Cummings Earn Second-Straight Tewaaraton Awards
from press release
WASHINGTON, May 28, 2015 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson and University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings as the winners of the 15th annual Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.
A finalist for the third consecutive year, Albany's Lyle Thompson is the first men's repeat winner in the history of the Tewaaraton Award. The senior attackman from Onondaga Nation, N.Y., who last year shared the Tewaaraton with brother Miles in 2014, led Albany's top-ranked offense to the America East regular season and Tournament titles, earning his third consecutive conference Player of the Year award and Most Outstanding Player of the America East Tournament. Thompson led NCAA Division I with 6.37 points per game, 121 points and 69 assists.
Thompson's 121 points were second best in NCAA history, trailing only his own mark of 128 points set in 2014. He was named to the USILA All-America first team for the third time and earned the USILA's Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as the nation's most outstanding player for a second consecutive season. On April 14, he passed 2013 Tewaaraton winner Rob Pannell (354 points) as the all-time leading scorer in NCAA Division I men's lacrosse, and he ended his career with exactly 400 points. Lyle is the third winner from the America East Conference, also including Doug Shanahan (Hofstra, 2001).
The five men's finalists were University of Denver attackman Wesley Berg, Duke University midfielder Myles Jones, University of Notre Dame attackman Matt Kavanagh, Syracuse University attackman Kevin Rice, and Thompson.

Lyle Thompson's acrobatic plays and preternatural feeding ability made him a three-time finalist for the award, and its first two-time winner. His 400 points and 225 assists are career NCAA marks for DI men's lacrosse, and his final two seasons stand as the two top point performances in single-season history. (Rich Barnes)

Reigning Tewaaraton winner and NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player Taylor Cummings helped Maryland capture a second consecutive national championship, leading the Terrapins with 100 points, 37 assists, 41 ground balls, 143 draw controls and 35 caused turnovers. The junior from Ellicott City, Md., earned the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year award and was named all-conference for a third time as the Terrapins earned the top seed in the NCAA tournament. She also was named to the IWLCA All-America first team for the third time. Cummings' per game averages for points, ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers were tops in the Big Ten, and she ranked first in the nation in points and fifth in draw controls.

A do-everything midfielder for Maryland, Taylor Cummings is the fourth player to win back-to-back Tewaaraton Awards, and is the fifth Maryland winner in the past six seasons. (John Strohsacker)

Cummings is one of four players to win the Tewaaraton Award in consecutive seasons, joining Kristen Kjellman (2006, 2007), Hannah Nielsen (2008, 2009) and Katie Schwarzmann (2012, 2013). She is Maryland's sixth Tewaaraton winner, joining Jen Adams (2001), Caitlyn McFadden (2010), Schwarzmann (2012, 2013), and is the first winner from the Big Ten Conference. Maryland players have won five of the last six women's Tewaaraton Awards.

Read the rest HERE at LaxMagazine

No comments: